PDA

View Full Version : casting ML maxi boolits

matthewquigley
09-17-2009, 08:36 PM
ok i scored 100 lbs of new stick-on weights 99.9 % leadnew in boxes:) i have a Lee .515 500 grain mold i just made a bullet/sizing lube of 3/4 pound crisco(white), 1/2 pound clean fresh beeswax, 2 teaspoons of bore butter i will pan lube and then size in a lee .510 push thru sizer then again thru a custom lee .505 sizer (push thru) to make a bore size conical for my knight 50 cal , and for the 54 cal guns i have(knights) then thru a push thru lee .501 and into a purple sabot
my guns all like real heavy bullets and 70-80 grain charges(495 grain no excuses shoot great in my 50 cal) :castmine: i just wanna make 'em myself :twisted: any flaws in my plan?

rob45
09-18-2009, 06:41 PM
The lead should work fine.
I have no experience with the mold you're wanting to use, but you might want to check the dimensions on the lube grooves. Lots of times when you size a bullet down too far either the lube grooves collapse or may even disappear altogether, but like I said, I do not know the particular dimensions of your mold. Course that won't matter in a sabot in your .54, but still might want to check in the .50
Let us know how it works.

Underclocked
09-18-2009, 09:51 PM
It will probably be a fairly slick-sided bullet with not a heck of a lot of lube groove left at the .505 and I expect you to see significant shearing at .501.

But you won't know until you get there to see if they are actually going to shoot well in sabots.

.505 might be a skosh big for that Knight .50 unless it's one of the older models that had somewhat bigger bores. Could be pretty tough to start.

docone31
09-18-2009, 09:52 PM
I find it a little confusing.
However, dish soap should be a good lube if you are going to sabot the loads. Any other lube will be lost in the translation. The sabot will be enough.