PDA

View Full Version : Need help with micrometer use

Patrick L
09-16-2009, 06:02 PM
Please bear with me; I'm no machinist. I'm fairly handy but its all self taught.

For may years I have relied on my Craftsman 1" micrometer. It has been a good solid tool, but it is only graduated to .001" An imbecile could figure out how to read it, and I did:smile:.

I just saw Enco had import micrometers that read to .0001 for $13.99. OK not aerospace quality but it seems fine for my uses. Now I need a little help with its proper use, as it came with no instructions.

I think I have figured out how to read it. There are 25 graduations per rotation, so 1 turn would be .025, 2 turns is .050, etc. Obviously you still read the spindle to the nearest mark to get the 3rd decimal, right? IE 2 turns plus 12 is .062, right? Then there are a series of 9 or 10 hash marks on the spindle, and one set of these will line up perfectly. I assume the one that does line up gives you the 4th decimal place. Is this all correct?

There is a little "wrench" packed with it. It seems to have end points that are used in the holes in the spindles. What is this used for? And on the face of the tool, between the spindle and where the cylinder goes into the measuring opening, there is a little wing lever. What is this for? And finally, do you need to "zero" these? When the ratchet on the spindle slips, it still doesn't read to 0. It is probably .0002 - .0003 out. On my craftsman .001 mic, it slips at zero unless there is a fuzzy or something on the face of the measuring surface.

Any help would be appreciated.

largom
09-16-2009, 06:23 PM
Without seeing your mike with the "hash" marks I cannot comment on reading it. The little wrench is to adjust the spindle, which should be done with a "standard", a gage that is precise in size. If you really want to read in tenth's you should set the spindle with a gage. If there is a machine shop local you could probably get them to set the mike for you.