PDA

View Full Version : Walker's Game Ears

jim4065
09-16-2009, 11:54 AM
Got to admit that most of my hearing is gone - so I'm considering getting these. If you have experience with either the "behind-the-ear" or "in-ear" models I'd sure like to hear your opinion on comfort and function. They're too darn expensive to buy on a whim....;-)

carpetman
09-16-2009, 12:12 PM
Jim i haven't tried them

TooManyMisses
09-16-2009, 12:38 PM
I haven't tried them either but have been thinking about it. I am a Hunter Ed Instructor and have read a lot of material on hearing loss, any protection is better than none. I wear double protection when shooting handguns, my custom plugs from work (very noisy machines) plus electronic muffs. Foam or plastic muffs help but the big bone behind your ear (mastoid I think) will also conduct sound waves which makes muff type protectors the better choice. I don't wear protection for hunting except for woodchucks and have definitely incurred some hearing loss in 50 plus years of shooting and hunting. Hearing loss is cumulative so any attempt to suppress the effect loud noises have is beneficial.

Larry

elk hunter
09-16-2009, 03:16 PM
Jim,

I have a pair of the older behind the ear type, they do work for me for hunting. I'm amazed at how much noise you make while walking when you can hear. If you do get that type, go to an audiologist and have plastic ear pieces cast for your ears instead of using the foam plugs that come with the units, that's what I'm going to do as mine keep working loose and falling out.

flounderman
09-16-2009, 07:35 PM