PDA

View Full Version : 30/30 loads and projectiles

Mark Daiute
09-11-2009, 07:14 PM
A young man has come to me to learn how to reload his grandfather's 30-30 Winchester.

I have Lee's 180 grain .308 mold. Dumb question but is that projectile ok in a tubular magazine? I figured I'd ask and show my ignorance rather than not ask and do something horribly wrong.

I figured we'd load a few with 13 grains of unique. I have some 3031, 4759 and plenty of 4064 so I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks,

Mark

grumpy one
09-11-2009, 07:23 PM
Which Lee mould is that? You need a flat nose or fairly large-radius round nose for the tubular magazine - my best results have come with Lee C309-170F, but Lyman 311291 is by no means hopeless.

I suggest you try 17 to 18 grains of SR 4759. That is by far the best and most consistent accuracy load I've found. You have to use a gas check, of course.

SierraWhiskeyMC
09-11-2009, 08:52 PM
Is it the C309-180-R?

I'm no expert on the .30-30 - never fired one, don't have one. Just have an 1893 Marlin my Granddad owned, chambered in .32-40 that I'm getting acquainted with.

First thing is that the boolit does not have a flat nose; it's rounded, but not blunt/rounded enough that I feel it would be a safe boolit to use. You might get by if you made a flat meplat on the nose that was larger in diameter than a primer pocket. Trying to do so by hand would not be advisable.

The 2nd thing is that the length from the boolit nose to the crimp groove may be too long for a .30-30 lever action. Maximum OAL for the .30-30 is 2.550". I can't tell by the images on the Lee website:
http://www.leeprecision.com/html/catalog/bullmol2.html

Now if you were making a flat meplat anyway, you could possibly trim it back enough to make it under the max OAL. You must crimp these boolits in the crimp groove, otherwise they will get seated more deeply when they get banged around in the magazine.