PDA

View Full Version : solid vaseline as a bullet lube?

africa
04-08-2006, 05:46 AM
Just a curiosity: How does solid vaselin perform as a bullet lube, say, for .45 ACP aplications?

Char-Gar
04-08-2006, 09:21 AM
I have been using Vaseline for 40 years to soften beeswax for use in a Lyman lubrasizer. The mix has been about 60/40 wax to Vaseline.

How would pure Vaseline work...Try it and find out! You can then be the one to tell us. It might be to soft to work with..but find out and let me know.

It will either work or not.

Buckshot
04-10-2006, 08:07 AM
...............I use a Vaseline-Beeswax mix to lube paper patched slugs, and a stiffer mix of the same to pan lube 43 Spanish boolits for my Rem RB. Does great and I've pushed it to 1600 fps with plain based slugs and no leading. Might be a bit thin as-is though?

....................Buckshot

1Shirt
04-10-2006, 10:01 AM
Years ago, I used a mix of 70% beeswax, 30% Vaseline, and added two lg. tablespoons of the finest graphite I could find. Made about 5 lbs. of the stuff at once, and it lasted quite awhile. Had to stur it to keep the graphite suspended when it was molten, and until it cooled down to a tough to stur level. Worked well in an old Lyman Luber, and I shot a lot of 06 cast quite well with it befor the days of Alox.
1Shirt

hiram
04-27-2006, 04:51 PM
If you do a search for 'petrolatum', you'll find it is the stuff vaseline is made of. Also, petrolatum, in stiffer form is used by the Fluidmaster company as the toilet bowl floor rings. "bol-wax" is their name. Vaseline, white petroleum jelly, is kind of soft. Check out the toilet bowl ring.

StarMetal
04-27-2006, 05:12 PM