PDA

View Full Version : A fix to hold Star handle up

Bob.
08-25-2009, 12:17 PM
Searched "Star Sizer" for information because I'm still learning about em.
Read a few comments about the handle not staying up and the smashed finger storys from it falling down!
This is my $2 upgrade,,,
Two 6-32 screws, icemaker line for spacers and a spring from the hardware store.

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b376/BobMKIII/100_2306.jpg

Bob.

ph4570
08-25-2009, 12:28 PM
That is good. It is very similar to mine. I'll post a pic if I have one -- think I took a pic.

ph4570
08-25-2009, 12:43 PM
here is a pic of my scheme.

Two stainless steel cotter pins and an experimentally selected spring. No new holes in the machine. I had to buy a minimum quantity of each so I was going to offer the kits in the swapping and selling section but I would violate the rules by doing so.

Bob.
08-25-2009, 01:00 PM
here is a pic of my scheme.

Two stainless steel cotter pins and an experimentally selected spring. No new holes in the machine. I had to buy a minimum quantity of each so.....

I almost did the same thing but the spring didnt seem long enough, looks like you found the right spring. The spring I got was too long so I cut it to fit, but it worked out pretty good the handle will stay up or down.
Your fix is quicker and easyer and no drilling, good ideal :idea:

Bob.

ph4570
08-25-2009, 01:06 PM
I monkeyed with several spring combinations. Based on that I determined the spring parameters for a single spring and found "the one" at an on-line supplier.

Bob.
08-25-2009, 01:44 PM
I monkeyed with several spring combinations. Based on that I determined the spring parameters for a single spring and found "the one" at an on-line supplier.

Oh, it only took me about 10-15 min to install .

Thats not including the 2 1/2 hours of engineering, trip to the hardware store (I live out in the sticks) and then the tweeks and adjustments?
Still under 3 hours ! [smilie=1:

Bob.

runfiverun