PDA

View Full Version : load question for Sig P220ST

Grumpa72
08-13-2009, 06:08 PM
I have a new (to me) Sig P220ST and I took it to the range today to see how it shoots and I am having some problems feeding. With WWB .45 acp 230 grain FMJ it loads and shoots just fine. I have been casting and loading for a Colt 1911 .45 acp using the H&G 68 clone in lead SWC cast to 200 grains for almost a year without any problems. I tried four different magazines, all Sig branded, and each one would have one or two issues with the SWC bullet not fully seating in the barrel. I nudge from my free hand will allow it to seat.

So, the question is, does anyone cast 200 grain lead SWC for the Sig P220 in .45 acp that has data to share? I have a Sig P226 and it loads and shoots anything and everything with out a single issue in over 18 years. It was my assumption that the 220 should do the same. Do any of you have issues?

Fwiw, I am using Win 231 at 5.3 grains with an OAL of 1.245. How does this compare to your data? In addition, I use a Lee Classic Cast Turret with the four position head and each round goes through the factory crimp die.

Suggestions?

Thank you in advance,
Gary

geargnasher
08-13-2009, 10:39 PM
Grumpa, I don't have a sig, but like you I also have a fleet of 1911s that gobble up most everything and never even burp.

You might try a Truncated Cone design with NO SHOULDER and use your .45 acp "factory crimp" die for ballast in your model sailboat instead of trying to manufacture ammunition with it. Use a LIGHT taper crimp.

Only my .02,

Gear

Gear

GabbyM
08-13-2009, 11:22 PM
some 45 acp's have a short throat. Not familiar with Sigs but it sounds like this is your issue. Bullet is hitting rifling before the slide closed.

It's not uncomon to need an O.L. which places the #68's shoulder almost flush with the case mouth.

You can remove your barrel and use it as a gage to set O.L.

geargnasher
08-13-2009, 11:36 PM