PDA

View Full Version : WW too hard for reduced 38?

lylejb
08-11-2009, 08:56 PM
So as not to hijack Vinnyg's thread, i've started my own.

First off, I'm a complete newbe to casting, my first mold, a lee 358-158-rf 6 cav, is in the mail today.

i've been reloading for 20+ years, but it was with jacketed or commercial cast.

I smelted my first bucket of wheel weights 2 days ago, so i have about 75lb of wheel weight muffins to start with, and about 4lb of "pure" from the stick on's

A while back, i was working up a greatly reduced load for 38 special / 357 for the wife and kids to shoot, and was having leading due to inadaquate pressure to obturate (sp?) the commercial "hard cast" bullets 158 swc. I changed powder to trail boss and found 2.5gr was the point the leading stopped. I settled on 2.6gr for the load i would use. i think these are about 600 to 650 fps.

I hope to be able to use straight wheel weights, plus some tin solder if needed.

would straight wheel weight be too hard for this very light load?

would i be better to mix 50/50 wheel weight / pure?

Ideally, i would like to come up with a boolit that could be used for both the kids light load, and used in my normal 38 / light 357 loads.

Thanks

LB

MT Gianni
08-11-2009, 09:04 PM
WW work OK with 2.7-3.0 gr Bullseye. I have too much inventory to start with trail Boss right now.

Treeman
08-11-2009, 09:09 PM
In my guns WW and Lee Liquid Alox work for everything from mousefart loads up to rip roaring magnums

snaggdit
08-11-2009, 09:36 PM
Your "hard cast" bullets are probably harder than WW. Properly sized to YOUR barrel they should be fine. Have you slugged it to know what that size is? When your mold comes, cast a few with that pure you have and slug it. Then cast some with WW and measure to see if you are dropping .001-.002 over groove size. If so, light loads should work as well as full power loads, with lube obviously!

Bret4207
08-12-2009, 08:55 AM