PDA

View Full Version : 45 Colt suggestions?

savage1756
07-30-2009, 07:47 PM
Hi all. I'm a newbie here and have a question on a 45 Colt. I have a Beretta Stampede that uses .452 lead I'm buying from Cowboy Bullets. I was thinking about getting back into casting my own after a loooong time being out of it and I wanted to know is there any mould out there that would replicate the original Colt shape and weight for the 1873 SAA? I'm a bit nostalgic and use Black powder for my current loads. Any tips or information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

beagle
07-30-2009, 09:18 PM
Probably Lyman's 454190 is the closest you'll come to the factory bullets. Some of the factory bullets are hollow base and no one makes a mould for a HB 454190 except NEI and they don't list it now. Probably they could turn one out but it would be expensive unless you just have to have one.

I just loaded a box of 454190HPs for my son's Beretta this last weekend and he was a happy camper./beagle

Andrew Quigley
07-30-2009, 09:28 PM
Been reloading 45 Colt's for the last 10 yrs with black powder and subs, but mainly for my 94 Winchester and 1866 Uberti Winchester. I shoot in Cowboy Action Shooting. Not sure about original but I like the Lee 250gr and use a beeswax/crisco lube mix.

Heavy lead
07-30-2009, 09:29 PM
Beagle's got it right, and a new 454190 is a good boolit, I have a new production and it casts an honest 455, I just lube the first groove on mine and load it behind 8 grains of unique and plink all day with it out of everything, I size to 454 even though it is shot in some 452 throated guns.

compass will
07-30-2009, 09:36 PM
Savage, what part of PA are you in? We might be neighbors. I live outside Honey brook (village of Compass). I also do Cowboy action with 45 colt in rifle and wheel guns.

geargnasher
07-30-2009, 09:48 PM