PDA

View Full Version : acceptable leading?

par0thead151
07-29-2009, 02:53 PM
Im new to casting, and am in the developmental stage of working up the load that work with my handguns(sig 226, beretta 92, and HK P2000SK)
i have gotten the bullets to work fairly well in my sig 226. it is accurate(at 25M) as any jacketed or plated bullets are, and cycle well. i do notice though that when cleaning i can see lead, almost like a sliver sometimes hanging from the barrel. when i say sliver i mean very thin and not too large. is this something to be concerned about? I probably need to resize it down smaller a bit to solve this as i am running on the larger side(it was the closest re size die i have on hand) when i slugged my barrel.
i will try to take pictures to show what i am trying to describe.
thanks

Potsy
07-29-2009, 03:24 PM
I think there was a similar thread awhile back but I'll chime in.

In my opinion, all cast lead bullets lead to some degree. When things are running right, there will be a small amount of lead fouling in the barrel and it won't build up from there. That little bit of fouling will provide bullets running down the barrel with some lead to "ride on".

Think of it in terms of your first shot with a jacketed bullet down a clean barrel, it usually groups a little better after a few rounds.

Same with lead, a little fouling doesn't hurt a thing and actually helps, it is only a problem if it builds up. If your casting and loading technique are correct, you really should never HAVE to clean your barrel because of lead fouling. No jacketed load can claim the same.

If you can fire a couple hundred rounds without accuracy suffering, I sure wouldn't worry about it. I wouldn't change sizers either as an undersize bullet will lead quicker than an oversize one (in most normal cases, I'm someone can point out exceptions).

fredj338
07-29-2009, 03:30 PM