PDA

View Full Version : TL boolits & sizing

singleshotbuff
03-25-2006, 12:03 AM
Gentlemen,

I found a batch of 358 cal 158gr tumble lube boolits that I cast a few years ago, before I graduated to a Lyman lubri/sizer. They're already lubed, albeit a bit heavily. I ran a couple through a .358" sizer die in the Lyman 45 tonight. It knocks all the excess lube off the driving bands, which I think is desirable for loading. I was just wondering if the small amount of lube (lee liquid alox) left in the TL grooves will be enough to prevent leading at mild 38 Special velocities? I'd just like to use this batch (about 300 boolits) rather than re-melt em (just lazy).

Anybody else size tumble lubed boolits??

Any thoughts?

SSB

Junior1942
03-25-2006, 08:44 AM
Why worry about the excess lube? I always TL my bullets again after sizing. Never had a loading problem with them.

Crash_Corrigan
03-29-2006, 08:53 PM