PDA

View Full Version : Lube those boolits

Pistolero
07-16-2009, 06:59 PM
Hello,

what sort of lube do you use for minie balls in percussion rifles?

I'm still getting started in muzzeloading.

can you use something like vaseline?

Cheers!:Fire:

mooman76
07-16-2009, 07:22 PM
The most common redily available is crisco. Ohters mix I believe crisco bees wax 50/50 or something like that. I use T/C bore butter or crisco. No patolium based lubes.

docone31
07-16-2009, 07:44 PM
I made my lube.
Beeswax, Olive oil, some Crisco.
Melt the beeswax, put in half as much Olive oil, let harden. This is the point where you determine viscosity. You should be able to smear the lube on the casting and it does not run off. Perhaps start with 45% Olive oil. You can always add more, and to thicken, add more Beeswax.
I made a good batch, but it still need some stiffening so I tossed in some Crisco.
Now it behaves itself to my liking.
I get no leading, and fouling scrapes right off.

oldhickory
07-17-2009, 08:01 AM
Like Moonman says, stay away from any petrol based lubes in muzzle loaders. I've always used bees wax and crisco myself for minnies. Melt in an old pie pan and dip the boolit, (base first) up to the last groove and set aside to harden, then size. Some guys fill the hollow skirt with plain crisco also, I don't.

testhop
07-18-2009, 08:01 PM
there is a old timers trick of useing a disk of hornets nest betwin powder and ball or boolit .suppose keep lube and powder seprate .i triedit cant say for sure of not could be my shooting

JDFuchs
07-18-2009, 08:59 PM
Like Moonman says, stay away from any petrol based lubes in muzzle loaders.

Im new to this game aswell, still have about 70 of the first 100 pack of round balls i got before I started casting. Did not find out lubing the patch or sabot made much of a diffrence till after the last time i had my muzzle loader out. :roll:

My question is what would happen if a petrol lube would be used?

docone31
07-18-2009, 09:07 PM