PDA

View Full Version : flaring case mouth?

sven556
07-11-2009, 03:31 AM
I've been trying reduced loads in 30-06 and so far I'm having really good results. I ordered some 164gr plain based flat nosed bullets. Seated to the crimp groove over 6.5 gr Bullseye, WLR primer gave me 7/8" 5 shot groups at 50 yds. I am pretty satisfied with the results I got. However, when I seated those bullets the mouth of the case shaved some lead off of the bullets. This can't be good for accuracy (I want to go out to at least 100yds with these cast loads) Is there an easy way to flare the case mouth?

I'm really new to reloading (less than 500rds). I'm not looking for maximum loads, mostly reduced loads to use in mil surp rifles so I don't have to take the beating of full power surplus loads. These reduced '06 loads will be used in a 1903a3 rifle.

Another cast bullet question; Using a plain base cast lead bullet can I expect accuracy out to 200 yds? Or is 100 yds more realistic?

Any information or suggestions about reduced loads or cast bullet loads in '06 would also be helpful!

Thanks in advance!
Sven

chevyiron420
07-11-2009, 05:15 AM
Sven, lee makes a universal case expander die which is realy a flareing die, but the best thing to do is get a lyman style "M" die the correct size. it will size the case mouth properly and put a little flare on it.

armyrat1970
07-11-2009, 05:45 AM
Sven, lee makes a universal case expander die which is realy a flareing die, but the best thing to do is get a lyman style "M" die the correct size. it will size the case mouth properly and put a little flare on it.

First welcome to the forum Sven. I would go with the Lee Universal Case Expanding Die. You can bell, or flare, the mouth of every case you decide to handload for. You are right. Shaving could cause accuracy problems.