PDA

View Full Version : Lee R.E.A.L.bullet mould

wap41
07-10-2009, 10:56 PM
I'm new to casting and need all the help I can get.Lee makes a mould for it's R.E.A.L.muzzel loader bullet that doesn't use a patch and is good for light or heavy loads.Has anyone used one and what do you do about lube?

docone31
07-10-2009, 11:11 PM
My .50cal Hawken wannabe loves them!
It has a 1/48 twist and it is very accurate up to 90gns. I just had to do it once. Actually several times. Kinda fun.
At any rate, you smear lube on the casting prior to loading.
I make my lube.
Beeswax, and Olive oil. Start out at 60%, and 40%. Let it cool. If it is too loose, add more beeswax.
I get no fouling to speak of. I use Pyrodex RS. The R.E.A.L. scrapes the crud down the tube as the casting is loaded. Some come out large. I have to tap them in the bore with the starter then, rather than push them like a patched ball.
I have used wheel weight, wheel weight/lead, and pure lead. They all print the same.
It hits hard, and flies straight!
Sometimes, they get tipped on loading. When that happens, I use the ball starter to hit them straight as I pound them down the bore. It doesn't take much effort.
I found the load data that Lee provides is good for at least 100yds. There is slush in the data. Start at the bottom and work up. For my .50, it calls for 20gns to start. I started at 60gns.
I really like it.
Easy to load, fires well, a little gooey to get in the bore but what the heck. If you do not have old jeans on, bring a rag. The hands get really slippery with that one.
I did put valve lapping compound on one when I first fired my Hawken. POI did not change, but it slides slightly easier down the bore.
I reccomend it.

idahoron
07-10-2009, 11:15 PM
Most of the REALS I have seen shoot amazing at 50 yards and can't hit a bull in the @ss at 100 yards. I don't care for them. Ron

piwo
07-10-2009, 11:21 PM