PDA

View Full Version : 250 gn bullets in 45ACP??

gregc
07-10-2009, 10:33 AM
good morning:

what a great forum this is. just found out about it earlier in the week and am looking forward to going through the posts a bit more thoroughly over the next while. although i've done a search, i couldn't find the answer i was looking for. while i've been casting for my 303 for some time, i'm new to casting for a 45 acp that i've recently picked up. i have a bunch of 250 gn bullets that i want to use but am not certain if they can/should be used in the 45. so, my two questions are:

1) should i be using 250 gns in the 45? i've heard many different opinions from gun store clerks and other range members. some say the 250 gns are too hard on the handgun and other say to use them with the appropriate load.

2) if the 250 gns can be used, what would some good starting loads be. i have bullseye and unique in my cabinet now and am always open to trying new loads.

thanks in advance for your replies

greg c

mpmarty
07-10-2009, 10:55 AM
I'd start with about 2.5 gr of Bullseye and work up very carefully if the 2.5 didn't cycle the action. If it works the action leave it there. I used to shoot 265gr Kieth boolits in my G21 as I had thousands of them just laying around left over from some trading I had done. I was too lazy to melt them down and cast smaller boolits so I just shot them. As I recall I used Red Dot powder but don't remember the load.

Firebricker
07-10-2009, 10:56 AM
Welcome gregc. I think 250 a little heavy but not outrageous ran some out of my 45 and they
did fine. But I would get a lighter lighter boolit if your shooting it a lot. Look under group buys and check out Mihec 200gr mould.

As far as powder and loads I would go with Unique over bullseye with hevier boolits.
Go to Alliants web sight for load info. FB

DLCTEX
07-10-2009, 11:00 AM