PDA

View Full Version : star sizer deal? is this a good price?

par0thead151
06-05-2009, 01:22 PM
"Several pieces of Star reloading equipment,I dont know much about star loading equipment or reloading in general.I have a press,I think a bullet sizer or luber,and an extra die plate for the press.I looked on e-bay and the press alone sells for more than I want for all of this stuff.It needs some serious cleaning,has some minor rust issues and I have no idea how complete it is,I think its all there but not sureAs is ,no pictures you'll have to come take a look.$500. for all or will trade for a gun of equil value.."

local guy i found selling a star sizer. im new to resizing, just getting into casting, so i am not up on value of used stuff or the star product line
thanks

Springfield
06-05-2009, 01:29 PM
The sizer is worth abut 200.00 if nice. From what I have read the Star presses are set-up for a single caliber, so it may not be what you want. Also Star is no longer in business so if the reloader is missing parts it may be just a boat anchor. But if all there is is worth something, but I'm not an authority. Personally I'd just by the sizer and pass on the reloader and buy a Dillon or equivalent. 500.00 is not a steal, especially since you aren't sure it is even all there.

par0thead151
06-05-2009, 01:32 PM
hmm i was unaware that star made reloading stuff, i assumed just casting resizing tooling?
i emailed him and will ask what he wants for the sizer.
when did star go out of business?
i thought that they were the end all be all for resizing?
who's second best that still makes parts these days?

475/480
06-05-2009, 02:10 PM
Star is top of the line.
Go to StarReloaders.com . Plenty of info there on the Star sizer and reloaders.

Sean

runfiverun
06-05-2009, 07:49 PM
a star reloader and a star sizer are two different things.
you can get a new star sizer but only used reloaders.
magma engineering sells the sizers and most/all of the new parts fit the old ones.

Echo