PDA

View Full Version : Felix Lube ?

burch
05-31-2009, 04:58 PM
I live in Florida with humid conditions most of time. I`m wanting to make my own lube and it seems the Felix lube is the brand of choice. I like the article from Goatlips web site on pan lubing and was wondering if the Felix lube can be used or if not what lube can be used for my Florida conditions and pan lubing ?

Burch :Fire:

Whitespider
05-31-2009, 07:37 PM
Just an observation....
I've been playing with home-made lube for goin' on three years now. Staring with beeswax as a base I've add things that soften, things that harden, things that are slippery, things that are sticky and things that I probably shouldn't have added. At one time I added graphite, moly paste and anti-seize that would settle to the bottom of the melted lube, which caused me to me to separate my lube into two different batches. None of the mixes would release from the pan (like Goat Lips' lube does), requiring the cookie-cutter method... until I added some canning paraffin. I'm not exactly why, but I suspect that the paraffin expands and shrinks with the heating and cooling more than anything else I've added.

burch
05-31-2009, 07:48 PM
Who`s a good source for beeswax ?

94Doug
05-31-2009, 10:10 PM
There are a couple that sell Bees Wax here, I purchased mine from RandyRat.

burch
06-01-2009, 05:51 PM
Now is the Castor Oil that same Caster oil that keeps ya regular ? [smilie=1:

Lead Pusher
06-01-2009, 06:35 PM
yes, I found it in the laxative isle in the pharmacy area of Wally Word. The Mineral Oil is there to and cheaper than baby oil.

Leftoverdj
06-01-2009, 07:48 PM
Just an observation....