PDA

View Full Version : need paper help!

TREERAT
05-30-2009, 02:57 PM
:bigsmyl2: I got 9 lb 100% cotton onion skin, and it measures .002 exact.
did I get the right stuff?
two raps should = .008, minus .001 for stretch and dry = .007 is this right?
I want my wraped bullit to be .360, so my lead should be .353 size, is this right?
my bore is .350 and lands are .359, am I making the bullit the right dimensions?

tryed to figure the grain of the paper with tear test, can not tell!
but when wet the paper wants to curl, so do I wrap with the wet papers natural curl around the bullit or 90 degree to it?

one last thing, how much can you size down the already patched bullet?
example lee sells a .356 push through, so if I wrap this size adding .007 I will get
.363, can this be sized down to .360 without ruining the patch. it would save me from haveing to get a custom size die!

6.5 mike
05-30-2009, 03:46 PM
TREERAT, I'm new to this also, but I wrapped some lee 185's for my 303 sav recentlly
with good results. Used 2 wraps of #20, they dried to .321 ran through a .311 lee sized
they came out at .312, got a little spring back. Checked them after they set for 2 weeks & no change. Lubed with jpw, slid through no problem.
If you get a lee sizer, check the ID, all the ones I have were small. Easy to lap to whatever size you need.
I cut my paper across the narrow end, seems to work best for me.
Another I just tried is lee 130 7mm unsized. Dropped at .2865 two wraps meade tracing paper took it to .291, just about right for what I need. This might give you some idea how much they grow when wrapped for real.

303Guy
05-30-2009, 05:46 PM