PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question

10mmShooter
05-27-2009, 08:03 PM
:mrgreen:

Hello Gentlemen:

I've new to the forum and am a newbie to lead casting, I did some searches and you guys are definitely in know when it comes to casting. I'm patiently waiting for my Lyman 4500, punches/sizers, molds and pot and goodies from Midway. Although new to casting, I've been reloading for 10 years. Everything I seem to like for casting is on backorder, I had to get creative tracking down handles for the two molds I ordered, Midway was out.

I shoot 10mm and 44, I keep velocities for lead rounds in both calibers in the 900-975 fps with WW-231. My first two molds I have coming are the Lyman 4 cav , #429421 (.430 245-SWC) and a Lee 6 cav aluminum #90690, (.401 175-TC).

Are there any special tricks I need to do make sure I get quality bullets out of the molds, I really need them to size at .430 for the .44 and the 10mm to size at .401. What temp should I cast at?? I'll be trying my first run with just wheel weights, since my velocities are low is safe to assume I will not have any leading issuing???
I'll be following Lyman instructions using Lyman "ideal lube" Any pointers on how to handle the fact that one mold is heat treated steel and other is alumiun, I'm assuming the Al mold will heat quicker and cool quicker than the steel mold:confused:

Does anyone have experience with these molds in .430 and .401. I'll be so diappointed if my bullets cast undersize. I'm hoping the machinist was having a good day when he cut my molds. Can Sn, Sb content effect the cast dimensions??

Thanks for reading my long post, I cant wait to get started.

ept000
05-27-2009, 09:06 PM