PDA

View Full Version : Lipitor

Bret4207
03-02-2006, 07:26 PM
Doc wants me to take Lipitor to lower my cholesterol, I'm at 255 and the bad stuff is at 190+. One friend swears by it, 3 others say it nearly killed them. Anyone have any info? I'm on Atkins diet, (60lbs lost so far), so I can't alter the intake too much or I bloat up like a baloon. I'd be willing to try the oatmeal/folic acid/anti-oxidant route but don't know if it really works. Any experience on this subject?

africa
03-02-2006, 08:06 PM
Bret, I am a physician, actually an endocrinologist. Lipitor is the commercial brandname of a drug called atorvastatin, one among the big group of statins. These drugs are effective in lowering total cholesterol, and thus, LDL chol. . They are not free of risks. Your liver function status must be evaluated before and during use of statins, whichever they might be. People show a wide tolerance spectrum to statins eithwer liverwise or musclewise. Your physician must warn you about symptoms of rhabdomyolysis, a rare but nevertheless serious muscle tissue related complication. Also, and very important, hi cholesterol is not a disease in itself, but rather a risk factor, that must be graded within a whole coronary risk evaluation, that includes your blood pressure, ECG, glucose, triglycerides, homocystein, platelet agregation and adhesivity, familiar history of coronary disease, smoking, age, physical activity, among others.
hope this helps.

StarMetal
03-02-2006, 08:08 PM
Personally I don't see 190+ as super high and requiring medicine.

Joe

Bret4207
03-02-2006, 08:30 PM
Doc Africa ( sounds like a super hero!) Thanks for the info. My Doc is a real good guy and he explained the down side to the drug. I keep hearing all these horror stories and I may be showing the yeller streak that runs up my back. Blood I can take. Damaged organs is another thing. Makes me kind of queasy. I may just be looking for an excuse to avoid the inevitable.