PDA

View Full Version : Lyman 450

odinohi
05-08-2009, 03:33 AM
I would like to start gathering up equipment to start casting bullets. I have a chance to buy a Lyman 450 sizer and luber w/ a 38/357 die for 80.00. Is this worth the price? I also have a few other dies that I got in a trade. I dont really have the money right now to buy this, but if its a good buy I can get it. I would be casting for the 357mag, 44mag, and 32-20. Any advice is welcome. Thanks, Tom

stubshaft
05-08-2009, 03:55 AM
I've been using the same 450 for over 25 years. The only weak point I have had problems with is the handle link (replaced twice). Depending on your needs another item you can look into is the Lee sizing system. They are cheap, easy to use and fully adequate for tumble lubing pistol bullets.

RayinNH
05-08-2009, 07:59 PM
Tom, it's a fair price when compared to the cost of a new 4500. I just got a 450 about three weeks ago for $25.00 with a .357 die in it as well as a top punch. The wrench and dust cap on top was missing, no big deal. Since I already had a 450 I could afford to wait, but I have wanted a second for black powder lube. The urgency of need will determine how much you are willing to pay...Ray

monadnock#5
05-08-2009, 09:19 PM
$25.00 for a 450, even with a couple of missing parts is an exceptional deal. At $80.00 it's still a good deal. I'd try to split the difference if the current owner is someone you can haggle with. There's a long learning curve associated with the 450, but it gets the job done. If the unit doesn't come with a manual, get one from Lyman. Don't try to figure it out on your own.

mtgrs737
05-08-2009, 10:08 PM