PDA

View Full Version : Scopes

Beekeeper
05-04-2009, 03:06 PM
I'm sure it has been asked a thousand times and gotten a thousand answers but haven't been able to find it anywhere.

I am an old milsurp shooter with iron sights.
Now I have gone and bought my first brand new gun.
I bought a H&R Handi-rifle in .223.

It comes with scope ramp and I (having never owned one) am looking to buy a scope!
I was thinking Bushnell Banner but am open to all types.
If I follow the 1/3 rule the bushnell falls about in the right price range.

Having never owned one and being a complete newbe to H&R and new weapons would like to hear from everyone on their thoughts about a good scope.
I am not against paying whatever but want a good usable scope I am not afraid to take hunting or rough country shooting.

beekeeper

oldhickory
05-04-2009, 03:17 PM
For scopes on sporting rifles, I personally like Burris. I think the quality is better than Leupold at a better price. They're made in the U.S.A. and wear like iron.

Ben
05-04-2009, 03:22 PM
For a " tad bit " more you can buy a nice scope with a lifetime warranty that is a proven and has a reliable warranty.

No more cheap scopes for me :

http://www.grafs.com/product/233569

atr
05-04-2009, 03:33 PM
Bushnell makes a pretty good scope,,,,but Burris makes a much much better one.....
I have Burris, Leupold, Weaver and Bushnell
I think the general quality of the optics on the Burris and Leupold are better than on the Weaver and Bushnell.
I especially like Burris because it it make in the USA

I you are shooting a 223 then I suspect that you are shooting at long ranges and I would opt for the more expensive scope for its improved optics

Ben
05-04-2009, 03:35 PM
Ditto ..................ATR's comments ! ! !

Jaybird62
05-04-2009, 04:03 PM