PDA

View Full Version : New member

4Browns
05-03-2009, 04:19 PM
Talking to my buddies over at Specialty Pistols forum the other day about starting to cast bullets for a few of my pistols and they told me that if I wanted to learn about casting then I MUST come over to this forum and hang out for a while. :-D

I will be starting out casting for .38 and 357 but quickly moving to 45ACP and 460 S&W. Most likely I will just lurk awhile, but if there is anyone in the Lansing MI area that wouldn't mind a newbie looking over thier shoulder for a 1/2 hour I would love to watch you cast a few bullets just to see how the operation works.

Bob Brown
NRA Life Member
SCI Member
Brown3345@yahoo.com

Gunslinger
05-03-2009, 04:52 PM
Welcome abord.

I'm pretty new at this as well, and haven't been here for so long.

My advise is to start reading the posts here, every aspect of casting has been covered and the info is just waiting for you.

And you might as well start looking for wheel weights and other sources for lead... you'll need it, you'll need a lot and you'll need it soon :-D

snaggdit
05-03-2009, 07:01 PM
Welcome! You will find lots of helpful people here and lots of answers as well. Use the search function and read the stickies and when those make you think of questions post em!

MtGun44
05-03-2009, 11:56 PM
Welcome. Buy a Lyman Cast Bullet book and read it. It'll give you a good head
start. If you don't understand something, ask.

The biggest error most folks make is not slugging their barrel so that they know what
diameter boolits to make. Start with about .001 to .002 bigger than your measured
groove diameter and use a 'known good' mold and lube. Once you have that working
you can head out on the edges and experiment, but I suggest you make it easy to
succeed at first and stay well "inside the lines". Also, if you are doing a revolver, start
with the sticky on revolver accy in the handgun section. You need the throat diameter
in addition than the groove diam for a revo.