PDA

View Full Version : When to run through the sizer?

Hairy Clilpper
04-30-2009, 05:57 PM
I have been casting boolits since about 1973 and have always let them cool and then size them. However, with the things I read about hardness peaking about two weeks after being cast, I now wonder if this is the right thing to do. SHould I be waiting for a couple of weeks or?

Any recommendations?

Hairy

MT Gianni
04-30-2009, 06:38 PM
Size as soon as convinient unless you are water dropping then size ASAP.

Gunslinger
04-30-2009, 06:44 PM
Size as soon as convinient unless you are water dropping then size ASAP.

Please define ASAP?! Within 1 hour? 4 hours?? I assume it can be a pain to have to size them so quickly after casting. You would have to run back and forth between the sizer and the (still hot?) pot in order to do this... Or maybe it's just me :violin:

arcticbreeze
04-30-2009, 06:51 PM
Foe me when water dropped ASAP means with in a day or 2. However I don't water drop hardly anything any more.

snaggdit
04-30-2009, 07:20 PM
Foe me when water dropped ASAP means with in a day or 2. However I don't water drop hardly anything any more.

+1 on 1 or 2 days for water dropped. Same day if possible, but within 2 is OK. Air cooled, I size within a week or so. I pan lube many of my air cooled pistol boolits so after casting I usually need 3 hours to lube up 1000 boolits. Often this ends up being several days. Then I size the ones that need it and that helps squish the lube into the grooves. Those that are already at cast diameter for use just get added to containers for rapid use... Gotta load um to shoot um!

Nora
04-30-2009, 07:26 PM
Size as soon as convenient unless you are water dropping then size ASAP.