PDA

View Full Version : New to Casting

Danner
04-29-2009, 11:19 PM
Hi all, I'm new to casting and have a couple questions.
1. When fluxing and after fluxing should you skim the skum off the top?
I casted some boolits this evening and the dirtier I let the pot get, the lead keeps sticking to the sprue plate. When I skim it off it doesn't stick.
2. I have very little lead and about 60lbs of WW and about the same of lynotype is there a good mix for lynotype and WW? And do I need to add anything else to it?
This is a great site I'm looking forward to learning more

Echo
04-29-2009, 11:36 PM
I would mix lead/lino at 2:1. That will give you sufficient tin to give good mold fill, and sufficient antimony for any level of hardness you choose, given water dropping or oven-tempering.

Or. Mix WW/lino 2:1, and get nearly the same...

Danner
04-29-2009, 11:49 PM
I was reading somewhere that if I skim off the stuff thats floating that I was removing the tin and the boolits would lead my barrel. Also, thanks echo for the recipies

chrisx1
04-30-2009, 12:53 AM
Negative on the skimming causing barrel to lead. As long as you have the boolit sized correctly to the bore diameter, you will never get leading. Slug the bore to find out what the bore diameter really is.

Keep the pot as clean as you can. What are you using for flux?

chrisx1
04-30-2009, 12:59 AM
By the way....welcome to the board. Best forum on the web as far as I am concerned

Slow Elk 45/70
04-30-2009, 01:15 AM
Hullo Danner, and welcome. 1st- go the GoatLips sticky and read his post. That will answer a lot of your questions. Also go to the bottom of the page and check out Lar45's LsStuff.

The whole idea of fluxing and string is to keep the tin/antimony/ etc. mixed with the lead.