PDA

View Full Version : Loading for accuracy - need advice

webby4x4
04-26-2009, 12:50 PM
OK folks - I'm new to reloading (only about 4 months under my belt). I have, however, cast and reloaded about 4-5,000 rounds now so I think I've got some of the fundamentals down.

I'm getting ready to go out to the shop and reload some .45 ACP rounds, and I'm thinking about loading up 50 "accurate" rounds. I'd like to get some advice as what are the best ways to load up very accurate rounds.

Here's what I have:
- About 3,000 tumbled/cleaned .45ACP cases that are already primed (with new primers)
- Bullseye gun powder
- About 200 cast 200 grain SWC boolits

Since my brass has already been primed, I'm guessing that water weighing is out of the question. :)

My assumptions so far are:
1) Weigh every case and find 50 that weigh the same +/- 1 grain?
2) Weigh every boolit and find 50 that weigh the same +/- .5 grains?
3) Ensure that each powder charge is the same (e.g. 4.6 grains)?

Any other thoughts or tips on making the most accurate rounds?

Thanks,
Rick

fredj338
04-26-2009, 01:29 PM
WHile BE is popular, I think there are more accurate powders now than the 100yr old BE. I like WST, but that is me.
IME, weighing pistol brass yields little accuracy benefit. The best I would do for ultimate accuracy rounds is use brass all from the same manuf. & all fired the same number of times. Weighing bullets is much the same. With lead bullets though, I would weigh them & look for any really big weight swings that would show an internal casting void, +/- 4gr would be fine.
Make sure you bell the brass, nothing screws w/ lead bullet accuracy like shaving a chunk off the bullet base edge. A good uniform taper crimp also helps w/ uniform neck tension.

Larry Gibson
04-26-2009, 05:04 PM