PDA

View Full Version : Storing your primers?

gcollins
04-26-2009, 08:47 AM
Howdy Folks,
As some of you all know, I have been realoading for many years! I thought now was a good time to get some opiton's on how you all think the best way to store primers! Primers see to be like gold know days. And I have stored primers in all kinds of ways!! I been reloading 32 years, and still have a few primers from when I first started, and these have been left out in the shop's (I have moved a few times) left in the open air, from 0 degrees to 100 degrees! I have stored in army ammo cans with and without descent bags What do you think???:castmine:
Also can a descent bag that has been out in the air, be put back to a good quailty, or do they go bad? Wanted to mention, those OLd, old primers, i loaded some off them the other day, and they shot fine!
I would like to hear from you guys, and your opition's!
Thanks ACE

schutzen
04-26-2009, 09:27 AM
Most desiccant bags/containers can be reactivated by baking on an oven at 140-150 degrees F for 2 hours.

I don't know about the primers, mine never stay on the shelf more than a year or two.

anachronism
04-26-2009, 09:27 AM
My method is pretty basic, and probably the same as most peoples. Ammo cans, with dissicant. I mark the outside of the can with it's exact contents so I don't have to open them to look for exactly what I want.

Dissicants can be "re" dried in a food dehydrator, or at a very low oven setting. I do it all the time since I get dissicant bags from work. I just dry them for a few days in my dehydrator & use them. Extras are stored in an ammo can too, since a lot of zip lock bags seem to leak minute amounts of air over time.

I also write the purchase date on the primer boxes, so I use the oldest ones up first.

cajun shooter
04-26-2009, 09:38 AM