PDA

View Full Version : Question about lead

Fugowii
04-24-2009, 08:55 PM
I'm a flat out noob to casting. I haven't melted one thing yet nor made a boolit
but I'm getting there. I'm a cast iron ladle away from doing my first smelt. What
I have done so far is to scrounge lead. I've got a bucket of WW (no small feat
around here) and I purchased 70 pounds of lead, some in one pound ingots made
with a Lyman mould and some strange pieces that I cannot figure out what they
were moulded with, if they were. Maybe the guy that had them originally scrounged
them in that form, but I was getting these from a friend of his and he had no clue.
I got it for such a deal that it was an ask no questions transaction. He just wanted
to get rid of it.

Now on top of that I have traded for about fifty pounds of Lino/Mono lead as well.

My question is this: Is the only way to confirm what I actually purchased/traded
for would be to check the hardness of the lead?

(I've tried to do a search and my problems with the search is that there are so
many great topics that I get sidetracked on I can never get to an answer to my
question!) :)

kyle623
04-24-2009, 09:14 PM
yes youre pretty much gonna have to test the bihn hardness to tell if they are hard enough. chances are the ingots in the lymon molds should be ww the mystery chuncks will deffinetly need testing.

geargnasher
04-24-2009, 09:35 PM