PDA

View Full Version : 45 acp seating issues

ljshooter
04-20-2009, 06:59 PM
I am having issues seating a 45 acp cast boolit.

Specs:

Lyman 2 cavity 225 grn 452
Dillon 550B
Lee dies with factory crimp die

1.272 OAL
.470 Crimp

When I run the boolit through the crimping die three things may happen.
1. Boolit is pushed down into the case
2. Boolit is pulled up out of the case to the grease grove
3. I can easily push the boolit into the case

I don't know what I am doing wrong, can somebody please help me out here? :(

webby4x4
04-20-2009, 07:38 PM
I'm relatively new to reloading, but I recently experienced a slightly similar problem. It turned out that I was over crimping the brass. When I backed off the crimp completely, the bullet locked into place perfectly.

As I was told by a more seasoned reloader... (paraphrasing) "Lead is a dead metal and does not rebound when compressed. Brass, being and alloy metal, does rebound upon compressions".

So, I would crimp the brass, it would compress the lead, and then the brass would rebound by a small amount. Just enough so that the bullet would spin inside the cartridge.

On the same note:
1) I assume you're resizing your brass before you seat it?
2) Try *JUST* seating the bullet without actually crimping it to see what happens.

Rick

Blammer
04-20-2009, 07:50 PM
Bingo! that would be my guess.

MtGun44
04-20-2009, 07:54 PM
Get a taper crimp die to replace the factory crimp die. Set the taper crimp to
remove the flare and push the case mouth brass into the boolit about 1/2 the
thickness of the brass (use magnification) or less. Set LOA to match a factory
ball round, I only know the 200 SWC length off the top of my head as I rarely load
the 225-230 RN boolits. Good boolit design, .452 should be proper diam.

Dismount your barrel and use the chamber as a gauge. The loaded round should
seat into the chamber with no more than a very light push, freely dropping all the