PDA

View Full Version : boolit love for casting

fireaway329
04-20-2009, 03:21 AM
ok how many of see boolit casting as therapy?
I am fairly new to this game but i just cant help but love it so far there is something so much more satisfying to making the boolit,and then reloading, i think i like it as much if not more than shooting.
i wanted to set up a poll but new to this forum and could not figure it out, so on a rating from one to ten where do you place yourself for sheer pleasure not work doing it?

Crash_Corrigan
04-20-2009, 05:10 AM
As a kid I couldn't get enuf ammo. Between my dad 1920 Savage Bolt Action 5 shooter and his 12 Gauge Baker double I terrorized the Racoon, Skunk and Possum populations of Ulster county NY from 1953 to 1961. Woodchucks were my favorite big game animal and squirrels and chipmonks were also valued targets.

I never could see a reason to kill a harmless bunny or deer. Likewise with most birds other than crows. The one time I went hunting officially with a license and such I was 18 and after only an hour in the woods during a fierce snowstorm along came Mr. Buck.

He was beautiful, covered with snow and with a nice pair of points on each side. He had big dark eyes and was munching his way along on some bark of trees. I watched him for about 10 minutes hardly breathing and making not a sound.

While keeping him under observation I mulled over the prospect of hauling this poor thing about 2 miles back to the road. I did not have knife of any kind that had a blade of more than 3 inches. If I possessed the best hunting and skinning knife in the world I had not a clue what to do with it. I had not a foot of rope and the deer was somewhere in the neighborhood of weighing as much as me.

At that time I was 5'4" and about 110 pounds. I had never eaten venison and I did not even like beef steak nor pot roast. My Mom was a lousy cook and burned everything. If we did not have peanut butter and jelly and bread I would have starved by the age of 6.