PDA

View Full Version : Should wax melt when fired??

larrye44
04-06-2009, 12:23 AM
Sorry, it should be; Should WAX melt when fired?? I checked my berm the other day and found some cast boolits that still had the wax in them and it was in perfect condition. It was a 45 ACP and the boolit was a 200 grain SWC. I don't know what load I used on it, I use BE, AA #5, AA #2 and Unique. This boolit was shot some time back and I just noticed it. Was it sized too small? I got these from Georgia Arms. Shot them for many, many years. Used to get 300 boolits 200 gr. SWC for $10.00. Now they are 300 for $25.00.

So now I'm just getting into casting. I have 885 pounds (WW's) in 3 pound ingots. I got the Lee Pro 20-4 Melting Pot. The RCBS 2 cavity boolit mold the one that is a close copy of the H&G #68. It has a flat base. I have read a lot on this forum and know that sizing is the key to not getting leading and getting better accuracy.

But, WHY would the boolit still have the wax in it after being shot?

Thanks, everyone. Larry

mooman76
04-06-2009, 12:29 AM
Sounds to me like the bullet did it's job. The base of the bullet protected the lube and kept the heat from melting it. This is normal.

larrye44
04-06-2009, 12:33 AM
Thanks, moo..., so then the wax should stay on the boolit. If the wax does not, do I need to look for another wax. I plan on starting with the RCBS pistol wax.

garandsrus
04-06-2009, 12:59 AM
Larrye,

I fixed the title for you...

Do you get leading when shooting that boolit and lube? If not, then there's no problem.

John

larrye44
04-06-2009, 01:15 AM