PDA

View Full Version : shopping for inline

softpoint
04-05-2009, 08:30 PM
Hello,
I'm shopping for a new inline muzzleloader. I am looking for something to shoot heavy conical bullets in, I cast most of my center fire bullets, so I will probably want to cast for it, and I have a bunch of .50 cal. bullets that have a black plastic skirt on them, I think they might have been called power belt. They weigh 545grs.
I've been reloading and casting for 40 years, but have only touched on muzzleloading a couple of times during that period.
So, to make it a short question, What rifle, and what mold would you folks pick? I would like to shoot RB in it too, for lighter stuff, but that isn't a requirment.:castmine:

wiljen
04-05-2009, 08:53 PM
Look for something with a slow twist most inline designs use a fast twist designed for sabots and arent nearly as good for RB or conicals. You might even consider something like an encore where you can have a barrel made with the twist you want.

uncle joe
04-05-2009, 08:57 PM
I don't know about the cost to transfer one from MS but since the laws here have changed for muzzleloading season and legal weapons, inlines are just about worthless. We can now use anything with an exposed hammer that is breech loaded and of a caliber that was around at lease a hundred years ago.

softpoint
04-05-2009, 09:16 PM
I have an Encore frame. Ilooked at Bergera barrels, but I think they only make a quick twist. Twist needs to be fast enough for heavy conicals, but I've been told I don't need a 1/28 twist even for those. :drinks:

softpoint
04-05-2009, 09:20 PM
Uncle Joe
If I'm reading that right, exposed hammer, cartridge at least 100 years old, breech loaded, you could use a .30/06, 7x57 Encore in Ms.?

Randallee
04-05-2009, 09:29 PM
If you are not a beaver trapper type..like me..wears a size 54 coat and a size 4 hat...get the TC ENCORE...you can swap your barrels for just exactly what you desire and after all only accurate rifles are interesting