PDA

View Full Version : What type pot for melting?

mran1126
03-30-2009, 03:10 PM
Hi, All. I'm new at casting. Have my Lee mold and sizer on backorder. I just got my first bucket of WWs. I just had a question about the best type of pot for melting them. Does it matter if the pot is ...Steel. cast iron or aluminum? I was wondering for both my initial smelting and fluxing and later for the actual bullet casting..Thanks for any help.

runfiverun
03-30-2009, 03:13 PM
cast iron for "smelting" and a lee bottom pour for casting 20lb'er don't ya know.

Tom W.
03-30-2009, 03:20 PM
Yes, DO NOT use your casting pot for smelting, and do not use aluminum for smelting....Cast Iron seems to be the best for smelting. ...and do it outside...

jsizemore
03-30-2009, 03:20 PM
What RunfiveRun said.

Welcome to the addiction and the site.

Pepe Ray
03-30-2009, 04:31 PM
Specifically!!!
Do NOT use aluminum pots for ANY casting.
When I began my casting career, I swiped on of my wife's Extra Heavy Duty ( read-EXPENSIVE ) aluminum pots. It worked well for several sessions on my Coleman camp stove. Then one day I noticed that it rocked on the stove. On further inspection found a large bulge in the bottom. BOY!! Did I luck out. I'd shut the operation down JUST before the bottom gave out. Never again.
Pepe Ray

Slow Elk 45/70
03-30-2009, 04:39 PM
Ditto on cast Iron as best for smelting, and the Lee 20# lead pot for casting as it is the least expensive and the quality is usually good.

mran1126
03-30-2009, 04:41 PM
Thanks guys. I'll avoid the aluminum.

targetshootr
03-30-2009, 04:48 PM
I've heard of cast iron pots breaking apart but it's what I've been using.

briang
03-30-2009, 04:59 PM
Aluminum will fail, cast iron may fail, steel will flake with use and stainless will work great. I'm to cheap for stainless so I use cast iron or steel depending on how much I have to smelt (I have a much larger steel pot)

Dale53
03-30-2009, 05:17 PM