PDA

View Full Version : mono lead

JKearns
02-08-2006, 03:30 PM
I'm new to the forum and look forward to learning much from you fellow shooters.. I have been casting for about 30 years but only recently got serious about it if that makes any sense:)

I have come into a supply of mono. Would anyone know the hardness rating for it? At first I thought it was lino but apparently its even harder.

Many thanks
John

sundog
02-08-2006, 03:36 PM
Welcome, John. Try this:

http://www.lasc.us/CastBulletNotes.htm

Tell us about what you've been doing for thirty years. sundog

Bullshop
02-08-2006, 04:17 PM
I'm new to the forum and look forward to learning much from you fellow shooters.. I have been casting for about 30 years but only recently got serious about it if that makes any sense:)

I have come into a supply of mono. Would anyone know the hardness rating for it? At first I thought it was lino but apparently its even harder.

Many thanks
John
monotype
lead tin antimony
72% 9% 19% BHN-28
BIC/BS

Johnch
02-08-2006, 05:58 PM
I would mix it 1 Mono to 3 or 4 WW .

IMO it would make a great mix for hard bullets .

Johnch

9.3X62AL
02-08-2006, 06:09 PM
Welcome to the asylum, J. Kearns!

I do a similar thing--add 15%-20% foundry type to WW to get close to Taracorp alloy (92/6/2). Call it "WW Sweetening".

Murphy
02-08-2006, 06:58 PM
Welcome to the board John,

I just in the past month or so became a member here. A wealth of information and great guys. I'd been casting for close to 20 years when I got here. Already learned some great things I'd never read or heard of before.

Respectfully,

Murphy

JKearns
02-08-2006, 08:18 PM
THank you all for the warm welcome.:)