PDA

View Full Version : Questions about lead

Hunter 24095
03-17-2009, 11:06 AM
Hello all. I am new to casting and trying to get some supplies together and have a friend who runs a scrap yard. He has pure lead sheet,ingots he called 50/50 that he said was 90% lead and 10% tin and WW which he gave me a couple of hunderd pounds of and pure tin.

Now my question is what should I get from him? I will be trying to cast 255 grain 44 mag loads for a 1894 marlin the same for a black hawk. 9mm boolits,45acp boolits and muzzle loading boolit's . Which is easier to work with? I have many more questions which I will try to ask later I dont want to clump them all together and thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

I also need to know who to order my molds and supplies from so i get the right thing the first time.

Cherokee
03-17-2009, 11:46 AM
For muzzle loading, you want to use pure lead.

For your other uses, wheel weights with about 1% tin added should suffice for normal use. 50/50 is usually 50% lead, 50% tin, not 90/10

Nice friend to have. Welcome to the forum and the new hobby.

Molds can be ordered for Midway, Grafs, and lots of other places. Others wil chime in with their thoughts as well.

Hunter 24095
03-17-2009, 11:52 AM
Thanks for the advice. I think he may have been talking about some ingots they got out of some kind of x ray that was 90/10 but I thought the same thing as you that 50/50 would mean 1/2 lead 1/2 tin. Like I said I'm new so just making sure.

madman
03-17-2009, 11:57 AM
If it is cheap get it all and store it. You will be able to mix your own alloys by weight and make some very custom loads for your weapons. This is the best site to gain information from.Great guys.some are like Brothers no BS just the best guys on the planet.

TAWILDCATT
03-17-2009, 11:59 AM
most of use use WW with out adding any thing.I load 45/38 and also 30 cal/8mm.