PDA

View Full Version : Bees Wax

MGySgt
02-04-2006, 02:04 PM
I guess it is time to try some home brew lube - What is a good price for bees wax? Any suppliers that are reccomended?

Thanks for any info.

Drew

357maximum
02-04-2006, 02:46 PM
I have gotton some good stuff in the past from HONEYCHASER on ebay, good quality,fast shipping, but watch the price, seems to vary. I bought around 25 pounds awhile back for around 30.00+8.00 S/H.

Murphy
02-04-2006, 03:07 PM
MGySgt,

You may want to take a look here as well. I purchased from them recently. Great qaulity, fast shipping.

http://www.texasdrone.us/

Respectfully,

Murphy

montana_charlie
02-04-2006, 04:18 PM
MGySgt,
What is your goal? Better lube...or cheaper lube?

I am very new at the BPCR game, so I plan to use SPG until I get some loads figured out.
But the price of lube sticks ($4 per stick) seems entirely too much when considering the cost of the ingredients. That, coupled with the fact that there is no 'store' near me that sells casting stuff (or lube) makes me want some self-sufficiency.

But, as an experiment...
Smoot Honey is headquartered five miles north of me, and their hives are all around the area where I live. They keep a small supply of cleaned beeswax available, and sell it for $3 per pound...so I got some.

Following a tip from a shooter in Canada, I bought two 7 ounce jars of Camp Dry Beeswax Waterproofer (for boots), which is a Kiwi product sold by Ace Hardware...among other places.
This stuff is too soft to use straight, but appears to be a close copy of SPG when mixed 50/50 (by volume) with beeswax. I made up enough to fill a paper cup just to have some to play with. My next trick is to compare it with SPG to see if it melts at the same temperature.
It will be some time yet before I actually try it on bullets.