PDA

View Full Version : Judging pressure in Load Development

mmorris
03-08-2009, 11:35 PM
I've been working a while after getting the casting fever to get to the point that I need to work up a load for some Boolits. I'm there now. The reading I've done talks about primer flow and comes down to a judgment call. I got no judgment. You guys got plenty. ;)

The picture below shows the first 20 handloads I have produced (well, minus the two cases that bounced off the tarp & hit the leaves).

I’m looking for guidance in reading pressure indications in the case and primer.

First question: Are any of these showing signs of excessive pressure?
(These loads are below the Max listed in all the references I used to determine powder charge)

Thanks,

Mike

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=12084&stc=1&d=1236569533

Fixxah
03-08-2009, 11:50 PM
I am no expert but I would go with either of the 5.2 gr loads. The others look like they deformed the primers. They may shoot great but brass won't last too long.

dwtim
03-09-2009, 01:32 AM
I've never seen a CCI 500 crater like that out of any of my guns, but then again, I don't own your gun--and I didn't set the COAL on your cartridges. The load is definitely within the range tested by Vihtavuori, but 9mm is a high pressure round that is sensitive to bullet seating depth.

Do the primers turn out the same with CCI factory ammo? If not, then perhaps something is amiss.

Other than that, it's hard to judge primer flow from the picture.

missionary5155
03-09-2009, 05:56 AM
Good morning & WELCOME Mmorris
Pressure... THE best method I know of that does not involve stress gauges and science labs is the "CASE WEB EXPANSION" measurement.
Get at least 5 MAX Factory Loaded bullet for the arm in Question.