PDA

View Full Version : Mag VS standard primers in the .44 magnum

44man
01-31-2006, 04:50 PM
All of you know that I say to try standard primers in the .44. I had to put the red dot back on my Ruger so I went down to sight it back in. Thought I would test primers again at the same time. I shot several groups with my normal load first until I was close to center. Ran out of them so I started shooting magnum primers. I loaded down and up using the same boolit and 296 powder. The muzzle blast was stronger and recoil a little more but even with a reduced charge, groups sucked.
The top target was with Fed 150 primers and the bottom target is the smallest I was able to shoot with the mag primers with any charge of 296. I was shooting Creedmore off the side of my leg and all shots broke with the dot in the center. I shot over 100 shots trying to get the mag primers to equal the 150's.

bisley45
01-31-2006, 06:55 PM
very interesting
will have to give that a try

mag_01
01-31-2006, 07:34 PM
:lovebooli I use the winchester large pistol good for reg. or mag. with good results

Ed Barrett
02-01-2006, 11:01 AM
For the last 12 years I use only Winchester LP primers in the .44 mag. I get better accuracy, I keep a couple of boxes of mag primers around because I got them for free. Regular primers have always seemed more consistant to me. in the .357 mag and .357 max I use regular small pistol primers. I seem to out shoot the people using the Magnum primers. Don't give away my secret. <g>

44man
02-01-2006, 03:12 PM
The Winchester is a good primer and not as hot as a full mag primer. Primer pressure is what hurts, not the heat. I have been trying to give away the secret for a while. Now that you ask, I wll quit.
Some cases NEED a mag primer to shoot their best. All I have been saying is to try both and other brands. Never make the firm decision that the loading manuals and other shooters are right until you find out for yourself.