PDA

View Full Version : converting 30-06 brass to 35 Whelen

Maineboy
01-31-2006, 02:09 PM
I understand that this a pretty simple process. Since I have plenty of '06 brass I'd like to do it with some of my surplus. Does the process just involve running the brass over the expander in the sizing die? Should I run it over an 8mm expander first?

carpetman
01-31-2006, 02:39 PM
Maineboy----Prior to 1988 when Remington adopted the then wildcat .35 Whelen,making cases from 30-06 was the only option. I always heard it was a one pass deal. Now that I think about it,it seems sorta odd that Remington didn't attach their name as Winchester did when it adopted the .270(Win) and Remington did when they adopted the 25-06(Rem). I have no experience with the round,but one thing that does make sense to me is that those wanting more than 30-06 do get a bigger bullet as opposed to a .300 mag just getting more velocity when the 30-06 will shoot through most North American animals. Why is more velocity needed at the expense of about half again as much powder?

Maineboy
01-31-2006, 02:55 PM
Maineboy----Prior to 1988 when Remington adopted the then wildcat .35 Whelen,making cases from 30-06 was the only option. I always heard it was a one pass deal. Now that I think about it,it seems sorta odd that Remington didn't attach their name as Winchester did when it adopted the .270(Win) and Remington did when they adopted the 25-06(Rem).

Maybe 35 Whelen-Remington won't fit on the case head?

bruce drake
01-31-2006, 03:19 PM
Name recognition! People knew the reputation of the 35 Whelen because it had been around as a wildcat for so long. Remington would have just confused the issue by bringing out a 35-06 UMC casing.

Bruce

Wayne Smith
01-31-2006, 03:20 PM
Maineboy

It can be a one stage, but you would be better going over an 8mm expander first. Also be sure to anneal your necks first. I've not done the .35, but have done 8mm many times. Annealing makes it almost easy.