PDA

View Full Version : How to start?

bmblong
01-27-2006, 04:11 PM
I'm brand new at this casting business. I just picked up a load of wheel weights at the tire place. Can I throw these right in the melting pot? Will the steel pieces float to the top? There are some strips with sticky stuff on the back. Will that burn off with the melt? I know that is alot of questions all at once but I have about a million of them. Thanks

Bruce

StarMetal
01-27-2006, 04:22 PM
Bruce it would be better if you could melt them down in something separate from your melting pot that you would cast from because there's alot of gunk on them. Also inspect them rather then just dump them into a melting pot because believe it or not some guns have even found loaded cartridges in the weights barrels...yeah. Boy you sure wouldn't want that going into the hot lead. The most common thing I find in scrap wheel wieghts are the rubber valve stems and cigarette butts. So now you see why I say melt them separate from what you cast out of . Make ingots if you can for easier use. That ways you have a good fresh clean supply of bullet casting alloy. I use a 50/50 mixture of wheel weights and lead and I put in just a tad of tin for better mould fill out.

Yes the steel clips float to the top as steel is much lighter then lead. I get mine out with a magnet. Other's use pliers, spoons, etc. I like the magnet because all it picks up is just the steel clip rather then like a spoon you get some good alloy in it.

Make sure that the ww's are not wet too. With all the gunk on them you will want to do this outside because there's alot of smoke that comes off them from the rubber and oil present on alot of them. Don't worry this is not lead vapors, but smoke from the gunk. You would have to get lead pretty hot to vaporize it.

Good luck and if you have further questions feel free to ask.

Joe

sundog
01-27-2006, 04:42 PM