PDA

View Full Version : Help with bore condition on old guns

hemiallen
02-17-2009, 10:46 AM
I am doing the unthinkable, considering buying an old lever gun off the internet based on owners opinions....

The issue I have isn't about the outside of the gun, as pictures can show much of all I need to know, what is an issue is the bore's condition.

One fellow, who has a very nice gun has a bore rating of 6-7 out of 10, and he says his other shooter is a 6 ( 25-20) and it shoots very well, so I should consider it is hard to get a 100 year old gun with a better bore. The gun hasn't been shot by him, and the bore pict looks like it needs a cleaning for me to see rifling. I trust his opinion, but I don't want to buy it until I understand bore condition needs better.

Another is from a reputable store, and says it has good rifling but is dark, and he mentions dark means micro-rusting. I suspect a good lapping with JB may resolve this, but not sure as I have never worked with old guns before.

My goal is a decent shooter using cast bullets, so lapping to me isn't as critical as we usually size them oversized anyway, vs jacketed where you are stuck with what the barrel is.

Thanks for any help deciding what bore condition is needed to get around 1"- 50 yard groups.

Allen

Harry O
02-17-2009, 11:06 AM
My experience with rusted bores is that they are pretty much equal to good bores as long as there is rifling full length (usually said in the ads as "dark bore, but strong rifling". The problem with them is with cleaning. Dark bores are much more difficult to clean.

As far as JB, I tried some lapping compound (different manufacturer) on one bad bore. It shot worse afterward. I would give it a good scrub with a brass bore brush and cleaner, then leave it alone.

dubber123
02-17-2009, 11:20 AM