PDA

View Full Version : Which Lubri Sizer to buy?

joecool911
02-13-2009, 10:57 PM
I am new at this and dont quite understand all that is involved. I have a pretty good understanding of the casting process, but dont quite have the sizing part figured out.

RCBS, Lee, etc. dont seem to offer .432 sizing dies. If I want to size .432 do I have to go to a Star?

If I order a Star, what do I order? Just the sizer and needed sizing dies? Am I better off to order the custom dies from the guy here on the site?

ddeaton
02-13-2009, 11:14 PM
Star baby!

Air Cylinder option
Heated base option either Star Magma, or Lyman which is drilled for Star and cheaper

Order dies from Lathesmith on here.

Dont waste time with the auto bullet feed or the shovel handle. Can be added later if you desire. I took mine off and its on the shelf.

Then you will want another one later like me. :drinks:

ddeaton
02-13-2009, 11:16 PM
Oh, and another thing.

Buy solid sticks of lube, not hollow. Or roll your own lube. Melt and pour in the sizer. Lots of good posts on here. I just went through what you are and this is what I learned.

jsizemore
02-13-2009, 11:34 PM
ddeaton,What lube recipe/s do you use?

ddeaton
02-13-2009, 11:48 PM
ddeaton,What lube recipe/s do you use?

White Label 50/50 so far.
I got a box of 2500+ and carnuba red also. I havent tried them yet. At first I didnt like the softness of the 50/50 and bought the others to try. Since using a while I am getting use to it and kinda like it. I want another sizer so as to set up for another lube. Changing dies and punches are easy, lubes are a pain in the rear.

HeavyMetal
02-14-2009, 01:28 AM
First welcome aboard!

You'll find differing opinions on lube sizer type's here that's for sure.

I will second ddeaton's suggestion of a Star if you can afford a new one or have the time to deal with evil bay.