PDA

View Full Version : How to clean and old plumbers pot

SteelyNirvana
02-12-2009, 11:15 PM
Hi to everyone, new member from NC. I'm new at casting and melting lead. I have a few of my granddads old lead pots (He was a plumber). I am wanting to get these as clean as I can get them because they have been sitting in an old warehouse for over 20 years and have they have alot of crud in them that I can't get out. I've gotten all the lead out of them but there is a solid thick ring of something around the inside of one that I cant get out. I spent about an hour tonight with a torch trying to get whatever this stuff is to loosen up but it wouldn't budge. I can get the stuff cherry red but when I try to scrap it with a screwdriver it wont come off. Anyone have any idea what this stuff could be and/or how to get rid of it? I'll try to post pics tomorrow. Should I be concerned about getting rid of it? I'm probably just going to use these pots for melting my scrap/salvaged lead in outside. So I don't guess they need to be super clean but I want them to be, I like my stuff to be clean if I can get it that way.

One other thing, does anyone on here salvage lead from old cast iron pipe joints? I found a scrap piece today that had about 8 hubs on it and I busted them up to get to the lead. Not much lead but I got a few pounds it feels like. Is it worth the effort or would I be better off seeking another source of lead?

Thanks in advance.

Pepe Ray
02-12-2009, 11:59 PM
C.I.Pipe joint lead is great stuff,IF it's the real McCoy.
There have been substitutes used (in my experiance it was water main.) in circa 1970 +/- which would NOT be good boolet material. It was called LEADITE. AIR it was rather brittle and black. FMI speak w/someone from a pipe supply co.
Pepe Ray

Gerry N.
02-13-2009, 12:05 AM
Have you considered that the white, crusty, impermeable stuff might be a ceramic lining?

If you want those pots squeaky clean, have 'em shotblasted.

Gerry N.

supv26