PDA

View Full Version : Lee TL bullets

Bardiamondm
01-21-2006, 02:58 PM
I am getting ready to order a 6 cav Lee mould for my .45 ACP's (Auto & Revolver), however, I have never fired a TL bullet. My questions are:
1. Is there a difference in accuracy between the TL's and the standard lubed Lee bullets?
2. I am leaning towards the 230 gr. Truncated Cone bullet as a good compromise for both, any thoughts?

I have been casting for 30+ years, so I am set-up for sizing, etc., but if the TL bullets are equal in accuracy, thats a few less steps. Thank you for any thoughts.

I should add my loads will be full power, not target. Thanks again.

Junior1942
01-21-2006, 03:18 PM
I wish all my molds were TL.

David R
01-21-2006, 03:21 PM
I have the 200 grain TL 6 banger. Its a pretty good mold. I bought it when we were shooting bowling pins at 25 feet and accuracy wasn't that much of a concern. We were shooting 2oo rounds an evening. Pour em, TLube em, shoot em. Fast and simple. I then got a match grade barrel and they were too big to chamber so I had to size them. I now have a 4 cavity 452460 Lyman that is all I use.

Hmmmm

6 cavity TL 200 grain 45 cal mold for sale :)

David

Scrounger
01-21-2006, 03:30 PM
Trade you either of these 2 cavity molds for it:

Lyman 311359
Lyman358446
RCBS 45-200-SWC

Buckshot
01-22-2006, 05:37 AM
.................Bardiamondm, I have a superbly accurate S&W K38 and I wanted to shoot it a bunch. I bought a Lee 6 cavity TL358-148WC. Cast of WW metal and soft scrap it did pretty well. Then I bought a Lee 358-148WC with conventional lube groove design. I TL'd these also and they shot better, simply 'as cast', just like the TL ones.

I'm not willing to spend the time to try and figure out why one is a little more accurate then the other. I really don't care. The TL mould drops the boolits like rain and they begin casting almost perfectly from the git go. What I use the TL design for is 'Grab n Go' ammo.