PDA

View Full Version : Which lube to use and other questions

garandsrus
01-20-2006, 12:31 PM
Hi,

I am very new to cast bullets and have been learning a lot thanks to this forum :)

My casting experience is limited to .38 pistol bullets (Lee 105 gr SWC), .30 cal (Lyman 311291) and 6.5 mm (Lee 006-6.5SWED). A total of about 4 casting sessions!

For the .30 cal I used a Lee sizing die to seat and crimp the gas checks. The pistol bullets shoot great without being sized. I am using a Lee Factory Crimp Die for the .38 so it is possible that they are getting sized in the case.

I want to crimp on the gas check and size the 6.5mm bullets but Lee doesn't make a sizing die for 6.5mm. I saw that I can have one custom ordered but haven't yet. Is this the best route to go?

I have only used liquid Alox for a bullet lube. Are there any drawbacks/shortcomings of this lube? What else would you suggest, primarilly for the rifle bullets?

Thanks for the assistance....
John

versifier
01-20-2006, 03:52 PM
garandsrus,
Like your handle. Welcome to the Asylum. [smilie=p:
I have good results with liquid alox in .38spec, .357mag, and various .30's, and as long as you are getting satisfactory results, why fix what works? Boolit size is more critical than lube, and there are other questions you need to answer for yourself first.