PDA

View Full Version : Lead supply question

Nate1778
01-26-2009, 09:23 PM
Hello I am fairly new to reloading and am already thinking about casting my own bullets. I am a roofing contractor by trade and have access to a fairly large amount of lead plumbing vent flashings as we replace them when we redo a roof. As a matter of fact if I thought about how many tons of lead flashing I have simply tossed you guys may shriek. My question is are these a good source for lead. If so what is there composition, they flex very easily so I am guessing they are very close to pure lead. We also use Solder for tin work so I have the tin portion out of the way as well. One last issue to this is most shingles now a days use zinc and copper embedded in the shingle to fight algae growth, will the possible wash over zinc be an issue or would the amount be so minuscule it won't matter. Obviously by the time we replace a roof the chemicals are long gone. Any good recipies for this kind of lead source?

PS if anybody in the Louisville Ky area is making shot I have lead, would be willing to trade for shot.

Gerry N.
01-26-2009, 09:29 PM
Flashings are for all practical purposes, pure lead. Any factory soldered joints use some weird alloys and will make your bullet metal so hard it rings so trim solder joints away carefully, Same goes for telephone cable shielding and lead plumbing vents. As for alloy recipes, I've already found more here than I can possibly use, just in an hour or two of surfing.

Gerry N.

cabezaverde
01-26-2009, 09:50 PM