PDA

View Full Version : Bator .223 Pics, anyone?...

Just Call Me...G
01-24-2009, 11:44 PM
Howdy All!

So I have been casting now for about 4 months and all is really going well.

I have casted for my .30 cal guns the Lee C312-155-2R & the Lyman 311041 (I know it was designed for a .30-30, but what a great boolit for .308 & .30-06!).

I have casted the Lee 401-175-TC for my .40 S&W/10mm pistols.
I have casted the Lee TL452-230-TC & Lyman 452374 for my .45s.
I have a Lee 356-120-TC on order so that I can start throwing lead for my 9mms.

Just recently I have been reading quite a great deal on here and castpics.com regarding casting for .22 CF, specifically (for me) feeding my ARs, Encore. 223 & a Remington bolt gun.

I have read quite a great deal on the Lee "Bator" bullet and today I put a mould on backorder through MidSouth. I realize that it will take some time and I am good with that. I intend to purchase the RCBS 22-055-SP mould as well (Midway has them in stock).

My question is...does anyone have an actual pic of the Lee Bator bullet? Preferably a pic of the cast boolit and a pic of an actual .223 round loaded with same.

I am just curious as to what it would look like. If you have any experiences or advice I'd appreciate that too :-)

I will be plinking, paper-punching and maybe doing some vermin extermination with these once I dial all the factors in. I'll be using 80/20 mix with a heaping tablespoon of magnum shot & water quenching. Looking for ~2500 fps out of a 55gr. GC boolit and good accuracy, probably using primarily H4895 (my go-to powder for .223/5.56).

Any info, pics, etc. you guys could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Seeya,

Giovanni

felix
01-25-2009, 12:28 AM
You'd be better off using a powder which will deliver a consistent 35K-40K cup, lit by a pistol primer, to make 2400-2500 fps with the Bator, which weighs about 51-53 dressed. ... felix

Just Call Me...G
01-25-2009, 03:02 AM
Hi felix,

which powder would you recommend?

thanks,

G