PDA

View Full Version : .45 ACP Lee Mold suggestions

clerkofkirk
01-21-2009, 04:57 PM
I just got a RIA 1911 and would like to shoot it more than buying pre-cast lead bullets will allow. (I know...I'm cheap.) I took up bullet casting briefly to cast bullets for my mil-surp rifles so I have some experience and the basic equipment.

Midway has 6-cavity Lee molds on sale and I was wondering which one to get. My commercial defensive load will be 185 grain so I was wondering if I should get something close to that.

Also, any tips regarding loading these cast bullets for a 1911 would be appreciated.

Thanks!

docone31
01-21-2009, 05:16 PM
Suggestion,
As you are asking what mold would be best, I am presuming you do not have much casting experience. No disrespect at all there, it is how I started.
I highly reccomend
http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=789762
I am not saying use that vendor or not, just that casting.
My experience with that mold,
With water quenched wheel weights, excellent performance. I use Blue Dot.
Casting, following the directions that come with the mold, great casting. I rest the mold in the melt untill the lead does not stick to the mold, then cast.
Watch the sprue, when it shrinks into the mold some and then turns grey, cut the sprue and drop into water.
I pan lube, and size .452 using the Lee Push Thru Sizing System.
My only ACP mold.
Same point of aim as ball ammo.
Easy on the firearm, no leading.
If I were starting out on my ACP, I would use this mold. Actually it is the one I started with and I use it to this day. I also use 185gn Hollow Points for carry and this casting duplicates the performance of my 185s.
I avoid the six cavity molds. Just my way. I can cast a bunch of two cavity castings with comfort and quality.
Just my 2c.
Good luck and enjoy.

CSH
01-21-2009, 05:29 PM