PDA

View Full Version : Mold Prep

roysha
01-17-2009, 02:13 PM
Hello All:

I'm new here but have been lurking for quite a while so finally decided to register. Although I have been casting bullets for over 40 years I find there is always something new to learn.

I did a search for mold prep but apparently I don't know how to use the search function because I sure didn't get what I was looking for.

I normally use NEI Mold Prep and am running low so decided to get more. Ouch!! The shipping is outrageous to say the least, and it's not just NEI. Virtually everywhere I checked the shipping was nearly the same with the price varying a bit here and there. How anyone can justify $10.00 shipping for a 2 oz. bottle is beyond me. I have worked in shipping and receiving and know that there are certain cost factors but I think there is a limit.

So, here is my question, is there an alternate product at a more economical price available?

I have superfine powdered graphite which apparently is the main ingredient in the mold prep but I don't know anything other than that. Can I someway utilize it an make my own mold prep? Does some one have a recipe/formula that they use?

I realize in the overall scheme of things $15 or $16.00 probably doesn't amount to much but it still gripes me to pay that much. OK, so I'm a tight ...... I admit it. :) That is one, actually the main, reason I cast bullets. I have over 75 molds in virtually all calibers except .243 and a couple really odd foreign calibers from .22 to .458 plus RB through .58.
No, I do not want to use flame and such because I use the mold prep more for storage after casting than anything else.

selmerfan
01-17-2009, 02:27 PM