PDA

View Full Version : squeeze tubes made of tin?

higgins
01-12-2009, 08:45 PM
Wasn't there a time when most squeeze tubes (toothpaste, grease, etc.) were made of tin, or mostly tin? How old would such tubes have to be? What are newer tubes made of?

mto7464
01-12-2009, 09:00 PM
years ago, my dad made stuff back in the 40's with them.

leadeye
01-12-2009, 09:06 PM
I have two ammo cans full of tin bars from melting down old artist paint tubes that I got a sale. There were several water damaged cases of them going for a dollar each. Wet moldy cardboard sure did not hurt the tubes.

OLPDon
01-12-2009, 09:19 PM
Seals on better Wine Bottles and Gray Goose Vodka are sealed with tin Wrapers the makeup of them is mostly tin. I work as a bartender part time have several friends that tend bar and don't reload so they save them for me I tell them I use them for weighted wet fly's which I do use them for also. To test if the wine seals are of the right stuff I just hold them to the gas flame of stove if it melts quickly they are the right stuff if the heat transfers quickly to the fingers not of the right stuff. I have added it to test ingots water droped and air cooled water droped ingots are harder then air cooled ones. I have also looked online the make up of them don't recall the complete makeup of them but mostly tin with antimony.
Don

454PB
01-12-2009, 10:28 PM
I recall reading that Elmer Keith used empty toothpaste tubes for their tin content.

Shiloh
01-12-2009, 10:54 PM
Although I don't know and can only assume, I would think that the days of metal tube ointments, unguents, salves, and toothpaste would be made of something other than tin.

Yesterdays price of tin is about $5.26 per lb. if I looked it up right. The price of the tin plus the manufacturing cost and the necessary profit, would cause items packaged in them to be exhorbitant. I've been wrong before though.

Shiloh

trooperdan
01-13-2009, 12:10 AM